These 2599 data points

Diop Papa Makhtar
Nerd For Tech
Published in
3 min readSep 17, 2021
Image about Data Point taken from this website

today I gathered 2599 data points for this tech-enabled platform that I was writing about but these data points are about people like you but I am not using them for the purpose of pushing interruption marketing content to them using every possible traction channel like email or ads but to study them and see what they need and what stories they are telling themself in order to better serve their needs and tell them stories that will resonate with them. The next step would be to get this proxy metric that I think could estimate what could be their level of interest in the tech-enabled platform called J…K.

the first reaction of an eager data scientist would be to just automatically jump on code writing scrapers for more data about these 2599 data points and using statistical tools of modules like scikit-learn, panda and NumPy or R like module and sometimes Matlab but I think the smartest and sage path is to take the time to manually process these datapoints discovering them one by one because they are related to online content that a human can read and understand in order to better know the people that are behind this datapoint because the goal is not to use specific tools but to understand those people and to helps them with our data science and software engineering skills.

of course, all these works are revenue-related because I have spent so much time living with scarce resources and just ideating like an experimental innovator not eager to be the first mover like how conceptual innovators do. And The revenues that I am expecting with this tech-enabled project are estimated in this table below that I have shown you in this past article about data journalism.

Revenues Estimation of this journalistic Tech-enabled platform

But what I have already learned with these data points is that this tech-enabled idea could never reach $266,706 or revenues per year because its targetable audience is the same as the number of these data points it would be crazy for me to think 100% of an engagement rate. But this is just fine because the goal of this tech-enabled platform is not to reach millions of persons like google or all these big tech platforms. It’s about serving with care and permission a little tiny part of the internet interested in this particular thing that I am building. then the 1000 true fans model of Adam grant matter for me and I am sincerely reading this author as well as authors like Bernadette Jiwa because despite the small size of the audience story will matter a lot for this to work I mean to help those who it is designed and built.

Then these coming days will be about consuming content about these datapoints one by one, drip by drip and I am thinking if a publishing experiment like the Greyio Heart Experiment could not be executed while manually learning from these data points. But I should agree that it could be embarrassing to write about the first data point I first scrutinized because the content related to it is a bit ….. for me to write about it.

The future will tell if a publishing experiment will go with the manual analysis of these data points and it is better to test 7 articles to see if there is an opportunity what is sure is that the Greyio heart Experiment is a success even if there are any revenues behind it.

Collecting data is not easy I have spent the day coding and looking for turnaround solutions and there are still a lot of barriers to break in order to get more relevant data that could help build a better tech-enabled platform and know exactly for who it will be because answering the question for who is it for is important for a tech entrepreneur like you and me.

--

--