Why is Deep Learning Called Black Box. Why is it a Problem?

Understanding the Black Box nature of Deep Learning

Devansh
Nerd For Tech
4 min readSep 21, 2023

--

We often hear people criticize deep learning for being black-box. But what does this mean and why is this an issue?

Deep learning is called black box because it is difficult to understand how deep neural networks make their decisions. This is due to a number of factors, including:

  • The complexity of deep neural networks: Deep neural networks can have millions or even billions of parameters, and the interactions between these parameters are complex and non-linear. This makes it difficult to trace the path from the input to the output of the network and understand how each parameter contributes to the final decision.
  • Lack of Transparency in Features: Unlike with traditional supervised learning, we don’t fully know what features Deep Learning look at during their training process. This means that
  • The use of non-linear activation functions: Deep neural networks use non-linear activation functions to transform the outputs of one layer into the inputs of the next layer. These activation functions can be difficult to understand and interpret, and they can make it even more difficult to trace the path from the input to the output of the network.
  • The lack of interpretability tools: There are a number of tools and techniques that can be used to interpret the behavior of deep neural networks. However, these tools are still under development, and they are not always able to provide a complete and accurate understanding of how the network is making its decisions.

Here are some of the reasons why the this is a concern:

  • It can be difficult to trust deep learning models if we don’t understand how they work. This is especially important in applications where the stakes are high, such as medical diagnosis or financial decision-making.
  • It can be difficult to debug deep learning models if they make mistakes. If we don’t understand why the model made a mistake, it can be difficult to fix it.
  • It can be difficult to adapt deep learning models to new situations. If we don’t understand how the model works, it can be difficult to know how to modify it to perform well on a new task. Despite the challenges, deep learning is a powerful tool that has achieved remarkable results in a wide range of applications. However, it is important to be aware of the black box problem and to take steps to mitigate its risks. Researchers are developing new tools and techniques to interpret the behavior of deep neural networks. If you are looking for specializations in Deep Learning, working on interpretability will serve you well.

For more details, sign up for my free AI Newsletter, AI Made Simple. AI Made Simple- https://artificialintelligencemadesimple.substack.com/

If you liked this article and wish to share it, please refer to the following guidelines.

That is it for this piece. I appreciate your time. As always, if you’re interested in working with me or checking out my other work, my links will be at the end of this email/post. If you like my writing, I would really appreciate an anonymous testimonial. You can drop it here. And if you found value in this write-up, I would appreciate you sharing it with more people. It is word-of-mouth referrals like yours that help me grow.

If you find AI Made Simple useful and would like to support my writing- please consider getting a premium subscription to my sister publication Tech Made Simple below. Supporting gives you access to a lot more content and enables me to continue writing. You can use the button below for a special discount for readers of AI Made Simple, which will give you a premium subscription at 50% off forever. This will cost you 400 INR (5 USD) monthly or 4000 INR (50 USD) per year.

Support AI Made Simple

Reach out to me

Use the links below to check out my other content, learn more about tutoring, reach out to me about projects, or just to say hi.

Small Snippets about Tech, AI and Machine Learning over here

AI Newsletter- https://artificialintelligencemadesimple.substack.com/

My grandma’s favorite Tech Newsletter- https://codinginterviewsmadesimple.substack.com/

Check out my other articles on Medium. : https://rb.gy/zn1aiu

My YouTube: https://rb.gy/88iwdd

Reach out to me on LinkedIn. Let’s connect: https://rb.gy/m5ok2y

My Instagram: https://rb.gy/gmvuy9

My Twitter: https://twitter.com/Machine01776819

--

--

Devansh
Nerd For Tech

Writing about AI, Math, the Tech Industry and whatever else interests me. Join my cult to gain inner peace and to support my crippling chocolate milk addiction