Finding Myself

JP
Nesh Magazine
Published in
2 min readApr 13, 2021

By: Hana Tzipora

There are things worse than having

Pride

As I have learned

As I have found.

There are things worse than wearing your conflictions on your sleeve because you are so

Tired of hiding and of

Lying by

Omission

Just to fit in where you are supposed to

Belong.

And there are things worse than the feeling of eyes on your back and Words that make your ears burn

Because you know they are being spoken, but you cannot always find the source because

There is never only

One.

There are worse things than letting go of your

shame.

The fear of an image

And of

Discovering

What you are

(what you thought you were)

Made of.

For I am made of many things:

of Individuality

of Faith

of Oppression (and of overcoming it)

of Unity

of “No, you cannot tell me who or what I am”

of Dignity

of Missing pieces that I will one day find

of “Yes, I am capable of change.”

of Singularity

of Emotion

of Love and

of Fear that should not be needed

I am made of history,

Still being written.

No one deserves to be hurt.

I ask, if we are one species, then why do we insist on dividing ourselves

Into infinite categories?

And labels

And differences that don’t matter in the end

(we are all equal in death)

No one deserves to be hated

And every day the news is filled with the crimes of those who claim to

Act in the name of

Religion

And

Love

And

Race

And

Identity

And yet the cries of grief are deemed

Too loud.

And I ask

what is wrong

with us?

I say “us” as in

Humanity and not as in

Faith

Or

Identity

Or

Race

Or

Origin

I say “us” as in

People.

Humans.

Inhabitants of the same earth.

I say “us” as in

Wanderers of lives

That are

What we make of them.

Hana Tzipora (she/her/they/them) is a teenager from the DC area with an interest in pursuing rabbinic studies in college and beyond. They started the Instagram account @that.intersectional.zionist in the summer of 2020 after participating in a virtual program centered around Judaism and art activism.

--

--