Doubling Down on Culture and Process

Andrew Walpole
{{Nested Loops}}
Published in
2 min readAug 10, 2015

Over the last few years or so I have put culture and process building at the top of my professional interests. With programming and design I am by no means at a point where I no longer need to learn, but having taken on a leadership role and just generally getting myself more in the face of business operations I have come to realize that technical skills in any industry can’t fully flourish without engaged attitudes and strategic processes that enable reliable and measurable execution.

Fast forward to today, I’m definitely not alone in this thinking. Process and culture are dominating topics across all mediums of industry news. It makes sense. Technology and industry disruption is continuing to enable individuals or small groups of people and a little bit of time effort and money to compete with what used to take large corporate structures and immense amounts of resource investment. If you level the playing field when it comes to what people can provide, all you have left to differentiate your business is the how. Some industries and companies have seen this idea come to full fruition and are reaping the rewards by becoming purpose and people focused.

So I’m doubling down on it; investing in the idea that even though I think these things are important now, perhaps I am short-sighted in what role that importance will play in the future. Companies need to start investing more heavily in their people and from the very top of leadership all the way down to the bottom the idea that this investment is worthwhile has to be believed in, because unlike many other facets of business you can’t game the results you need to build a sustaining foundation of operational execution.

--

--

Andrew Walpole
{{Nested Loops}}

Developer, Designer, Teacher, Learner, Innovation Dabbler