This Nestlé recruiter is here to help you get your dream job

Aaron shares six career insights gained from speaking to hundreds of candidates and reviewing thousands of resumes from all over the country.

Aaron Huennerkopf
5 min readMar 23, 2018
Best day ever!

When I joined Nestlé’s recruiting team, I knew I’d be finding great candidates and helping build Nestlé’s future. I never imagined that I’d get to spend the day as the Nesquik Bunny, but one day during a visit to a production facility in Anderson, Indiana, that’s what I did! I spent the day helping load up Nesquik product and meeting colleagues I’d helped recruit, all while dressed as the Nesquik Bunny, cracking up the rest of the team.

I’ve been part of the Nestlé recruiting team for almost five years. For a lot of that time, I’ve focused on roles in Technical & Production, but I’ve also connected candidates with incredible roles in R&D, Technical Applications (our name for product development), IT, and Finance. Not all of them will spend a day as the Nesquik bunny, but they all have a core Nestlé-ness: a collaborative spirit, a passion to innovate, and a drive to make Nestlé a better company than it was yesterday.

As a recruiter, everyone I meet wants to hear about what it’s like to be part of the team here, and gain advice about how to show their Nestlé-ness to recruiters and hiring managers.

1. Do your homework

When a former coworker asked me to consider Nestlé, I only knew of Nestlé as a chocolate company. So, I did my research and found out about all the different brands and products that Nestlé has. I realized that half of my kitchen was full of Nestlé products; that got me excited! I also started reading about Nestlé’s corporate responsibility and dedication to its communities. Working here seemed like a great opportunity to support a positive impact in the world and really grow my career.

Recruiters like me want to see applicants research our company and be excited about playing a role here. Dive into our website, read our history, and explore our plans for the future.

2. Remember that you’re interviewing us, too

Ask questions! Your recruiter and your interview panelists are excellent sources of information. I left my interviews excited about the chance to work with the team, and now I work with some of the best and brightest people I know. Being in a collaborative, inclusive environment allows us to do truly great things as a team.

You’ll have the chance to meet your prospective colleagues during the interview process, so take the opportunity to learn about them, their career path, and how they’ve made an impact working at Nestlé. Make sure that the collaboration, drive, and fast pace will be a good match for you.

3. Experience is important, but it’s not everything

Regardless of the role, I want people that are eager, curious, team-players, and good communicators. I’m looking for people who want to advance their careers, but that also want to improve themselves, those around them, and that have a drive to help make Nestlé better than we were yesterday. A few years ago, there was a person I recruited into Nestlé from the defense industry. He was in an engineering role at the time, but it was far different than anything we do at Nestlé. We hired him as a Maintenance Supervisor role. Now, he works in human resources.

His story shows that we’re more focused on hiring and promoting people who are eager to learn, curious, personable and motivated, than people who have certain bullets on their resumes.

Photo: Jason Nguyen www.jasonnguyenmedia.com

4. Stay on top of current opportunities and nurture the relationship with your recruiter

Be persistent and quick to apply. Spend some time on your resume, tailor it to the job, and don’t apply to just anything — stay focused on your desired career path. Join our Talent Community, and we’ll let you know when openings become available that match your interests. You’ll get first notice on roles like our Sensory Quality Assurance Manager in our Arlington, VA headquarters, where you could work hands on sampling the food taste, quality, and flavor profiles.

Don’t forget to stay in touch with your recruiter! When my candidates check in to remind me what they bring to the table, it helps them stay top-of-mind.

5. When we say “Be You,” we mean it

We have a welcoming culture and want people to bring their whole selves to work. That mentality starts day one with the interview process.

Volunteering with some of my Recruiting Team at the LA Boys and Girls Club

Every day, we try to build an experience for ourselves and our colleagues that goes beyond your job description, whether that’s through sports leagues, local volunteering, or wellness programs. When our employees are at their best and have good balance in their lives, they can put their best into our products and serving our consumers (even if it’s dressing up as the Nesquik bunny)!

6. Reach out — Let us get to know you

You can check out our openings at www.nestleusacareers.com! Connect with me on LinkedIn and follow me on Twitter — I’d love to hear from you and see what you’re up to!

Related Stories:

--

--

Aaron Huennerkopf

Recruiter@Nestle USA — Attracting great people to great opportunities!