Using Jupyter Notebook For The First Time

Muriithi_Kabogo
Nestmetric
Published in
1 min readOct 10, 2018

I recently embarked on a skill upgrade a few weeks ago. I decided to learn machine learning, a goal that I initially set for 2019(today is 10/10/2018). I am learning using Jeremy Howard ‘s videos which can be found here.

I have got to a point where I have a little understanding about what is going on in this machine learning world. On that note, I felt I needed to take it a notch higher and start with the actual code. You will notice that in the fast.ai videos, they use Jupyter notebooks to write code. Unfortunately for me, I did not know anything about how to use Jupyter notebook. So I decided to do what good developers are good at, google. This is what I got. Long story short. I have learned practically using that tutorial. This is what I have learned

  1. Creating and saving a new notebook
  2. Creating markdown text
  3. Running the actual code
  4. Markdown, cell creation, and code running shortcuts in Jupyter
  5. Doing a real-world data analysis problem with Jupyter notebook

I recommend https://www.dataquest.io/blog/jupyter-notebook-tutorial/ as it helped me get started with my first notebook on Jupyter.

Try it!

--

--