Make Your Bot or Server Cooler with: Icons

Dhanish Ali
Netcord Articles
Published in
2 min readApr 6, 2022
Thank you to Roonie and Netcord for letting us write about Icons.

Our goal is to provide all kinds of resources and help users learn how to make icons, give ideas for designs, and much more. We also provide minimalistic, handcrafted, and beautiful. A set of servers with minimalistic Discord icon emojis to use in your bot, server, or elsewhere on Discord for free with attribution. Share icon ideas, find inspiration, craft your own icons and showcase them for the world to see, only at the Icons community!

Blog: https://blog.iconsdiscord.xyz/
Discord:
https://discord.gg/9AtkECMX2P
Follow us on: https://twitter.com/icons_discord

  1. Why make emotes?

As a designer, seeing people use emotes from different genres, categories, and colors, was extremely triggering. I knew that people would gravitate towards using an icon set that had the same colors, depth, shape, etc. I also knew that I could create a really just that!

2. Why Discord?

I use Discord because it has stood out far more than any other platform. I love it because it gives me the opportunity to interact with people who enjoy the things that I enjoy; topics like moderation, design, community, and more. There are also so many opportunities to gain experience myself by interacting with people from all levels of skill and experience.

3. What’s the market for paid emotes like?

I can clearly see the paid emote market fluctuating and evolving over time actually. For example, Discord’s newest update which included role icons drove people to seek out more custom chibi-style emojis as opposed to clean-cut minimalistic icons.

4. Have you experienced art theft? How do you handle it?

Art theft on Discord & online in general is really prominent. When I can, I reach out to people who have stolen my work, and some of them are completely understanding and remove whatever they stole, but others don’t respond or don’t listen, in which case I file a DMCA report. Sometimes I even end up making a commission with people who stole work who didn’t intend to, and they get to enjoy my art with the proper documentation!

Danu is the owner of icons, Check out his website to know more about him.

--

--