Vijay Mallya says ‘He Met Arun Jaitley before Leaving the country’

Netive News Portal
Netive.in
Published in
2 min readSep 15, 2018
Vijay Mallya says ‘He Met Arun Jaitley before Leaving the country’

Vijay Mallya has triggered the political controversy as he stated in London that he had met the Finance Minister Arun Jaitley before leaving the country regarding settling down the debts of the bank.

Finance Minister asserted that the statement made by Vijay Mallya is completely false and he posted his side on facebook.

“Since 2014, I have never given him an appointment to meet me and the question of his having met me does not arise.” Arun Jaitley said.

The oppositions have fired hard on Arun Jaitley and asked him to resign from his post. Oppositions blame that Jaitley was aware of Mallya’s extradition.

Just a brief encounter, says FM

On Wednesday evening, Jaitley put out a quick statement on Facebook, noting that the meeting Mallya spoke of was, in fact, an unscheduled encounter in the Rajya Sabha.

“Since 2014, I have never given him any appointment to meet me and the question of his having met me does not arise. However, since he was a Member of Rajya Sabha and he occasionally attended the House, he misused that privilege on one occasion while I was walking out of the House to go to my room,” the finance minister said in a Facebook post.

“He paced up to catch up with me and while walking uttered a sentence that ‘I am making an offer of settlement’. Having been fully briefed about his earlier ‘bluff offers; without allowing him to proceed with the conversation, I curtly told him “there was no point talking to me and he must make offers to his bankers.” I did not even receive the papers that he was holding in his hand. Besides this one sentence exchange where he misused his privilege as a Rajya Sabha Member, in order to further his commercial interest as a bank debtor, there is no question of my having ever given him an appointment to meet me,” he added.

--

--