“It was one of those moments that can only happen when thousands of progressives gather together.”

Netroots Nation
Netroots-Nation
Published in
3 min readJun 15, 2016

It’s almost time for Netroots Nation 2017! This year we’re headed to Atlanta, GA. As the convention approaches, we’re digging into what the convention really means to attendees. Today we’re interviewing Pamela Merritt, Co-Director of Reproaction. You might also know her as SharkFu, or as a fierce blogger, or as a mentor of many in the movement. Here’s what she had to say about what Netroots means to her:

Us with Pope Francis at NN15

What’s your funniest Netroots Nation story?

In 2015, Reproaction traveled to NN with a life-sized stand up of Pope Francis. We were running a campaign asking people to share what progressive policies they’d like the Pope to prioritize, so we asked folks to write their thoughts on a sheet of paper and take a picture with the Pope. As we were preparing to leave the hotel with Pope Francis, the cleaning staff knocked on our door. We opened up to ask for a few extra minutes, but when the women saw the life-sized stand up of Pope Francis they exclaimed with glee “Papa!” So, we asked if they’d like to take a picture and then took several pictures with their cell phones. My key take-away is that Pope Francis is very popular, and my fellow progressives had some fantastic advice for the Pope.

What’s one lesson or skill you learned at Netroots Nation?

I’ve attended several NNs, and a constant lesson is that our movement is intersectional and we all need to remember that. I’ve been challenged at NN to think outside my box. I’ve also been reminded that we are not single issue humans and no one wins when folks play the oppression Olympics. NN has challenged me to listen more, talk less, and take lots of notes!

Tell us about your most meaningful Netroots moment.

In Minneapolis, I was hanging out while charging my MAC when a young woman approached me. She wanted to know where a session on reproductive rights was going to be because she didn’t want to miss the chance to meet one of the speakers. I asked her who she was eager to meet and she said she wanted to meet me! She didn’t know what I looked like, but had read my articles and was a huge fan. I introduced myself and we had a great chat while I charged up. We’re still connected through Facebook, and she has gone on to write some amazing articles on abortion rights in Africa. It was a fantabulous moment.

Tell us about a connection or friendship you made at Netroots Nation.

In Detroit, I was honored to meet a woman who works with residents to get their water turned back on. I had an amazing two-hour conversation with her about reproductive justice, the current human rights violations regarding access to water, and how this issue is not just a Detroit issue. I learned so much and have stayed in touch. It was one of those moments that can only happen when thousands of progressives gather together.

What’s your best Netroots Nation survival tip?

Take the time to meet and connect with people outside of your field of activism. And take the time to network with folks who do work inside your field. NN is a rare opportunity to learn and connect!

Join us in Atlanta, GA for the 12th annual Netroots Nation convention, August 10–13, 2017!

--

--

Netroots Nation
Netroots-Nation

The largest annual gathering of progressives in the US. Join us in St. Louis, MO July 14–17, 2016.