Communication Skill

Richard Zhou
Networking ability
Published in
2 min readFeb 28, 2018

In the first two experience, I talked about to connect with people, balance the strong tie and the weak tie during networking. And today I want to talk about communication is also important in networking.

First of all, be confidence is the first element to be a good communicator when you network with someone. As a business major student, I have to connect with a lot of difference people in the future work. For example, I want to get an internship first, then I need to network with some business company for an interview. During the interview, be confidence to win a good impression is helpful to get interviewers accept.

Secondly, use objective statement and enough evidence to persuade people and get their trust during networking. When you create a new relationship with people, communicating and letting them to believe you are a reliable people. This is a key process to be a good networker.

Thirdly, communicator should use proper language in varies situation. People need to show respect and formal to their boss, and be casual to their coworkers. As a international student, I have to learn more about how to use proper language. Because there are lots of difference to be polite using two distinct languages.

My experience

I had an internship in China before. It is arranging some paper work in an electro-car Factory. I got this internship partially due to my confidence during the interview, and the boss of the factory would like to give me a change to improve. I network with most employees in that factory, being modesty to learn from them. After I few days, I found there is no entertainment for them after work. (Most employees live in factory dormitory.) So I made an appointment with the manager and gave some advices. My advices are:

1 use the empty space to build a basketball court

2 but some exercise matching in a empty warehouse as factory gym

3 set a reading room in dormitory

My thought is providing some entertainments for employee to relax and improve their production. But I didn’t provide sufficient evidence to prove they actually need these during the communication. Additionally, the tone and language I used only show my personal perspective, and didn’t seem like care about the cost for the factory. Thus, manager reject my suggestion. Therefore, I will improve my communication skills to be a better networker.

--

--