Why Networking

Richard Zhou
Networking ability
Published in
2 min readFeb 21, 2018

The soft skill I plan to research is Networking ability. Networking is not a one direction action, but is alternative. People always say “it’s not about what you know, but who you know”. So networking is important for our future work especially in a business company.

For instance, employees in a business company need to keep contact with exist client and create new relationship with potential customers. At this time, networking ability is the best tool. People who has good networking ability could get other’s agreement with a high rate, and can easily build a good relationship with them.

Additionally, in the web-connected modern world, it seems that people no longer need to open their mouths to convey ideas. However, as far as I am concerned, networking relys on a lot on the oral ability. For example, while delivering a speech in public or having a chat with unknown people, a person is able to use eye-contact, varied intonations and body languages to have themselves fully understood by others. In other words, people should have a good communication ability to be a good networker.

I will develop the importance of both oral and writing form, explore other elements about networking ability and how to improve networking ability. My goal is helping classmates and also myself to improve the networking ability. If most of audience would agree networking is important after reading, and decide to use some of my suggestions to improve their networking ability. Then, that means I did a good job. To achieving my goal, I will discuss with my friends and classmates about this topic, searching online resources to find good ways improve net working ability, reading relative articles to learn the good points, and going to the writing center ask for opinions. What’s more important, audience’s and professor’s comments are also very helpful. I would like to know their opinion and revise my writing.

--

--