--

After reading Andrew Hu’s blog about communication. I realized my need to build my self-confidence. I believe my confidence has a strong impact on a lot of things I do. Most of the time I like to stay in my comfort zone. I usually get nervous when speaking in public and when I am surrounded by people I do not know. There are so many benefits when having good communication skills. If I am able to boost my self-confidence, then I will be able to be a better Resident Advisor and develop my networking skills.

I am currently a Resident Advisor and communication is one of the key assets that I must have in order to get the job done. As a Resident Advisor, I have to have the ability to work in a team, think quickly, solve problems, and being able to have effective verbal communication skills. Whenever I have floor meetings, I realize I have trouble projecting my voice and I tend to stutter a lot. Sometimes I do not feel like a leader because I have trouble getting people’s attention. As much as I practice, I always get nervous when speaking in front a large group of people. I know in the future I will have to present in front of a larger group of audience, so I rather boast my self-confidence now then later.

Communication effectively is crucial when it comes to achieving goals and developing a relationship. As a business major, networking is valuable to expand your knowledge, experiences, and a great way to expand your associates. Interacting with others will help me build better connections and that can help me generate referrals. It takes practice for me to get comfortable talking to a stranger. I want to be able to have better icebreakers to warm up a conversation and to get the person I am talking with engaged in the conversation.

--

--