--

I recently started to step out of my comfort zone more. I realized if I stay in my own bubble, I can never make connections or meet new people. I try to remind myself that, “Everybody is human and nobody is perfect. What makes them better than me? Why should I be nervous?” I knew the first step I needed to take was to motivate myself. According to the Time’s article, “How to Motive Yourself: 3 Steps Backed by Science,” by Eric Barker, in order to stay motivated people must stay positive, get rewarded, and get peer pressured”

Staying positive increases productivity and the chance of success because nobody likes to work when they are in a bad mood. The moment when you complete everything on your to-do list is the most satisfying thing that can happen. Rewards always increases motivation so treat yourself with a reward, like a good meal. Lastly when you are being peer pressured, it pushes you to do something and get pass your comfort zone.

After reading the article by Eric Barker, I find the first step really helpful. I started practicing my networking skills by talking to other students in the School of Managements. I was very nervous in the beginning and I tried to stay as positive as possible. I kept reminding myself that they are students too. I started the conversation by reaching out my hand and introducing myself. The next step I took was asking them for their name and major. I remembered reading an article last week that best way to break the ice when having a conversation is simply asking someone, “How was your day?” or “How was your weekend?” After asking how they have been, I try to lead the conversation to something else to get to know more about them because “everyone likes talking about them self.”

--

--