Networking Events

There are many reasons why you should attend to networking events. According to Australian Institute of Business, the seven reasons why people should attend to networking events are to build relationships, keep up-to-date with trends, benefit from new ideas, connect with key influencers, be motivated, socialize, and to recruit new people. Attending to networking events are the best way to meet new people in your industry. It also keeps you up-to-date with great opportunities by listening to what others learned and even hear other ideas or opinions. Meeting new people keeps you motivated with influencers and leaders. Lastly the best part about networking is being able to recruit new employees or meeting owners of a company who are seeking for employees.

Today I went to a networking event. The main reason why I went was because it is a requirement for my MGG298 Career Connection course. The purpose of this course is to help students create a career planning experiential learning. It provides information about internships, resume building, and most importantly choosing a concentration and developing Career Action Plan. This was the first networking event that I attended to and I thought it was interesting. The networking event was presented by NetPlus Alliance, which is a business partnership between distributors and manufacturers. I was able to talk to the representatives and they said they are trying to recruit college students who studies the marketing or finance concentration. I am currently unsure of what concentration I want to do, but speaking with the NetPlus Alliance representatives gave me more information of what finance and marketing majors would do in the future after they graduate. After listening to their ideas and it gave me more motivation to want to do more internships and to get more involved before I graduate college.

--

--