The Myth of Normal, by Gabor Maté

Part one of my two-part review of Dr. Maté’s new book

Jillian Enright
neurodiversified

--

Image created by author on Canva — book by Dr. Gabor Maté

Cautiously pessimistic

I recently finished reading Dr. Maté’s new book, The Myth of Normal. I have spoken (well, written) negatively about some of Dr. Maté’s theories in the past, so I was cautiously pessimistic when I began reading.

I am happy to report that I was pleasantly surprised (but only somewhat). I will share my thoughts in as balanced and fair a manner as I can, with full acknowledgement that I began the book having previously formed negative opinions about a particular aspect of Dr. Maté’s work.

I am also happy to say I have a more nuanced perspective on his latest publication, so I will do my best to present both the strengths and weaknesses of this book.

Being who I am, however, I still had some fairly strong reactions to some of the assertions made by Dr. Maté. I flip-flopped between loving and hating the book, strongly agreeing and very strongly disagreeing, depending on the chapter or section I was reading.

It’s a very long book, so I may even have to review it in parts. With all that said, I will outline the main premises of each section, providing evidence and information to either support or refute the claims made therein.

--

--

Jillian Enright
neurodiversified

She/they. Neurodivergent, 20+ yrs SW & Psych. experience. I write about mental health, neurodiversity, education, and parenting. Founder of Neurodiversity MB.