Celiac Disease Is Not A Gluten Allergy

Celiac Disease is an immune-mediated chronic condition

Jillian Enright
neurodiversified

--

Created by author on Canva

Ignorance is annoying

One evening, when I was newly diagnosed, I was out for dinner and drinks with my team after a soccer game. I was just learning how to navigate a gluten-free (GF) diet at home, and very awkwardly figuring out how to eat in a restaurant without getting sick.

It was 2009 and gluten-free menu options were extremely limited.

Instead of items being marked as GF right on the menu, like they do in a lot of places now, I had to ask for an allergy binder. It was up to me to go through the binder, look up any food I thought I might like, then search through to see if it had gluten under the various allergens listed.

I was already socially awkward and anxious, and this certainly didn’t help. It made me very uncomfortable. As I was stressing over what I could possibly eat, a teammate asked, “why don’t you just take a pill like I do for lactose intolerance?”

Because I can’t. It doesn’t work that way. At all.

Over the few years that followed, I encountered a mixture of dismissive folks, people who wanted to accommodate but had no idea how, and people who refused to even try.

--

--

Jillian Enright
neurodiversified

She/they. Neurodivergent, 20+ yrs SW & Psych. experience. I write about mental health, neurodiversity, education, and parenting. Founder of Neurodiversity MB.