Everything You Never Wanted To Know About Executive Functions

Because you didn’t know what they were, or even that they existed, so how could you want to know about them?

Jillian Enright
neurodiversified

--

Created by author on Canva

I wish I had known

I have two degrees in the field of psychology and I graduated without knowing what executive functions are, or even that they exist. I didn’t learn about executive functions until my son was diagnosed with ADHD, a decade after I had completed my second degree.

Before my son was diagnosed, I had a picture in my head of what ADHD is, probably similar to the average person who doesn’t know a lot about it. I pictured a little kid (usually a white boy) who was fidgety, couldn’t sit still, and was very easily distracted.

I thought having ADHD meant you couldn’t focus for long periods of time and were hyperactive, and that was about it. This seems to be a fairly common belief amongst people (and even professionals) who don’t know much about ADHD beyond the surface — and really, beyond stereotypes.

Now that I do know…

Funny thing, ADHD is highly heritable, meaning it’s easily passed on through genetics. So if your child is diagnosed with ADHD and it feels like a surprise, well… you may want to look a…

--

--

Jillian Enright
neurodiversified

She/they. Neurodivergent, 20+ yrs SW & Psych. experience. I write about mental health, neurodiversity, education, and parenting. Founder of Neurodiversity MB.