How To Stop Masking Your Neurodivergent True Self

It may feel scary at first, but once you do it, you will wonder why you didn’t do it sooner!

Catherine Londero
neurodiversified

--

I write this article as a 39 year old, having only learnt about my own neurodivergence two years ago. As a result, I have spent my whole life trying to squeeze my personality, behaviour, and emotions into the guise of a neurotypical person.

Masking to hide your true self

Masking is a method used by neurodivergent people to hide their differences and attempt to appear neurotypical. It is mainly used in social situations and is often a necessity in the workplace.

No one specifically told me to use masking as a technique to hide my differences, but like so many neurodivergent children, I soon worked it out for myself.

I can’t remember a time when I didn’t mask but I do remember having a strong preference for just being with my nuclear family. I now realise that I didn’t have to mask when it was just us.

I remember having a strong preference for being with my nuclear family, I now realise that I didn’t have to mask when it was just us.

--

--

Catherine Londero
neurodiversified

Late diagnosed Autistic and self-diagnosed ADHD, dyspraxic mum to two boys. Picture book and middle grade writer https://www.catherinelondero.co.uk