I’m a Feminist And Didn’t Even Know It

My stories related to misogyny, sexism, and gender issues

Jillian Enright
neurodiversified

--

I’m a feminist and I didn’t even know it

Feminism is defined asthe advocacy of women’s rights on the basis of the equality of the sexes.” I believe in human equality, regardless of gender identity or presentation, but I wouldn’t describe myself as an advocate for women’s rights.

Not because I don’t want to fight for gender equality, but because I am so busy advocating for neurodivergent and disabled people (like myself and my son), I don’t have the time, resources, or emotional energy to dedicate to the many other worthy causes I wish to support.

Advocacy, by definition, is active, not passive. Advocating means taking action, it’s “action that argues for a cause, supports or defends, or pleads on behalf of others.”

Intersectionality

Over the past several months of reading, writing, and learning about social issues, I’ve come to realize all these issues…

--

--

Jillian Enright
neurodiversified

She/they. Neurodivergent, 20+ yrs SW & Psych. experience. I write about mental health, neurodiversity, education, and parenting. Founder of Neurodiversity MB.