Inclusive Education Month Is Ending

With a whisper… not even a whisper, more of a sad trombone sound

Jillian Enright
neurodiversified

--

Sad trombone. created by author on Canva

Wah wahhhhhh

(that’s my sad trombone sound)

Didn’t I say you’d be underwhelmed? (Yes, yes I did).

It’s nearly the end of February. I’ve contacted our Minister of Education every single day through social media, as well as sending more formal letters of concern, and have received zero acknowledgement.

He shared one post on social media to “declare” February Inclusive Education Month, and that was it. I even asked, on that very post, what meaningful action our provincial government was going to take to improve inclusion in our public schools…

Nothing.

Nada.

I also published 23 stories on Medium this month (this will be #24), 13 of which were related to inclusive education. Actually, one of them was boosted by Medium staff, which was really cool!

I shared each of my articles with our Education Minister, but I think he’s just not that into my work.

--

--

Jillian Enright
neurodiversified

She/they. Neurodivergent, 20+ yrs SW & Psych. experience. I write about mental health, neurodiversity, education, and parenting. Founder of Neurodiversity MB.