#BellLetsTalk: Less Talking, More Walking

Walking the walk, as in effecting meaningful change

Jillian Enright
neurodiversified

--

Created by author

2023 update

I was (unfortunately) just reminded that #BellLetsTalk day is coming up. In light of the blatant virtue signalling and large corporations profiting off a meaningless campaign, I propose a different hashtag to mark January 25, 2023.

I propose #DontBeAllTalk.

I am a neurodiversity and mental health advocate. Supporting and safeguarding the mental health of neurodivergent and disabled people is a significant part of my work every single day.

So why would I resent a campaign which claims to support improving mental health, and battling stigma?

I want to share with you some of the reasons you won’t see me using hashtags or social media images associated with any of these mental health campaigns, created by multi-billion dollar companies under the guise of supporting mental health.

Created by author — (definition from the Oxford dictionary)

True mental health support must be genuine and meaningful

--

--

Jillian Enright
neurodiversified

She/they. Neurodivergent, 20+ yrs SW & Psych. experience. I write about mental health, neurodiversity, education, and parenting. Founder of Neurodiversity MB.