NEUROQUEER VOICES

Submission Guidelines

Showcasing neuroqueer writers

Sarah TC
Neuroqueer voices
Published in
6 min readAug 30, 2024

--

Image of a fountain pen and some purple flowers resting on paper
Photo by Debby Hudson on Unsplash

I started my own publication! I’m new to this, so bear with me. This will be a steep learning curve for me.

Neuroqueer Voices is a showcase of neuroqueer writers — those whose neurodivergent and queer identities intersect, or whose identity rejects the ideas of heteronormativity, cisnormativity and neuronormativity. There is an excellent introduction to neuroqueer from Nick Walker, who originally coined the term and has written a lot about it since.

There is a high prevalence of neurodivergence among LGBTQ+ people, yet we are often underrepresented.

Self-ID and self-diagnosis are welcome here. There will be no gatekeeping in that respect.

These guidelines may change from time to time.

What sort of stories can be published here?

Opinion pieces, editorials, semi-academic and personal essays relevant to the neuroqueer community. There are already excellent publications that publish stories relevant to LGBTQ+ people or autistic people, such as Prism and Pen and the Unexpected Autistic Life. Neuroqueer Voices aims to publish stories relevant to those whose queerness and neurodivergence intersect. This should be clear in your…

--

--

Sarah TC
Neuroqueer voices

I am a queer, neurodivergent mental health nurse, academic and PhD student. I write about the things that matter to me and my community.