Sekiguchi, Tokyo

Grammar Check

Yasuo Takeuchi
Neutral Introspection
2 min readOct 29, 2016

--

I have not written here yet, but there’s one thing I was truly disappointed at. It was that my Speaking and Writing TOEIC, which I took last July, the score didn’t go up against my expectation. I thought and felt my speaking and writing English skills both improved (a little bit) after almost one-year writing here and also a couple of years in Toastmasters, but it could not be shown as a score.

Then I thought about the difference between my feeling and real scores and concluded that because my grammar in use has lots of mistakes, my score didn’t go up.

So I sometimes re-read grammar textbooks and reviewed my English grammar knowledge. It’s true that I often feel wondering how I speak and write correctly when speaking and writing in English, but I am basically an easy-going person, I haven’t cared so much so far.

Yesterday, I had a chance to have feedback from my friend in Toastmasters. He has read my Kindle (oh, I’m honored but embarrassed…) and said “You should have received grammar checks at least. I have to say there are lots of confusion especially about tense.”

Oh, what a good feedback! My thought was right! I greatly appreciate it!

When I prepare to publish in Kindle, I checked my English using the web service, Grammarly. I found a bunch of mistakes in grammar and modified almost all sentences I have written. However, it seemed not enough.

Honestly, I’d like to receive native checks, but it may cost quite high. For the time being, the only thing I can do is to keep enjoying writing here and Toastmasters ;)

--

--

Yasuo Takeuchi
Neutral Introspection

1972.4.14, INFP, love movie, music, cafe, travel, jogging, architecture, photo, mystery, cycling, muji, uniqlo, William Morris, Paul Weller and Woody Allen