Kinugawa, Tochigi

Having a message and having an expression

Yasuo Takeuchi
Neutral Introspection
2 min readNov 22, 2016

--

Recently I vaguely noticed that there are two types of speech which have a message to deliver and speeches which have only an expression.

The first one would like to show its message and the speaker hope audience to move, and the second one would like to show it as a work and the speaker does not hope the audience to move something, if anything, the speaker want the audience to have an interest to the speaker.

And thinking about Toastmasters, we, members learn by doing communication and leadership. At the time of the speech, ordinarily, I have to set the message which I want the audience to know, which I want suggest to the audience, or which I want the audience to take action. In this case, even speech itself finish, if the audience does not change at all, the purpose of this message is not finished, and next, we should act something for the audience to follow my message, strictly speaking.

However, just if I want to express myself at the time of the speech, it may be completed itself. It’s like a live concert and performance. This is a kind of practice to act in front of the audience, so it’s not enough to have chances to speak.

Activities to write something here is the second one for me. I don’t have any certain message as a publication, Neutral Introspection. Of course, sometimes I write about something having messages, but I just want to express my feeling here as a whole.

One of the reasons I keep being a member of Toastmasters for a long time is that I may be the person as the second one.

--

--

Yasuo Takeuchi
Neutral Introspection

1972.4.14, INFP, love movie, music, cafe, travel, jogging, architecture, photo, mystery, cycling, muji, uniqlo, William Morris, Paul Weller and Woody Allen