212 Days On Medium And I Am Still Here — The Secrets I Now Know

How Medium Content Inspired My Storytelling Journey

LARO ✨✨
Never Stop Writing
2 min readApr 10, 2024

--

Google is the reason I’m here

Photo by Author Generated By Bing.com images

It’s been 212 days since I embarked on this journey with Medium, and it has been a learning curve.

I must thank Google for misinterpreting many search requests 212 days ago. It took me to an unrelated Medium story, and the rest is history.

I have learned a lot on this platform and am continually learning.

The Power of Research

Firstly, I advise anyone starting out on this journey to read as much content on Medium as possible before they begin to write.

I should have avoided diving straight into writing. I should have taken the time to see what other writers were posting and, most importantly, how they presented their content to their followers.

Finding my voice

Photo by Author Generated By Bing.com images

Secondly, I needed to find my voice. I assumed everyone loved sports when I started, but I was wrong. After reading other articles in my sports category, I realised that I had to present my love for sports to Medium readers in a completely different way to attract people who do not love sports.

Engage Or Not to Engage

Thirdly, engagement is a sore point at the moment. When I arrived, people would say you must engage, engage, and engage.

I started to up my game, but after what happened to other writers who were suspended or banned and mixed messages coming from Medium HQ.

I was a bit puzzled. I continued to engage, but the spam monster recently caught me.

The Spam Monster

Photo by Author Generated By Bing.com images

So don’t fear the Spam Monster and engage with other writers. There is no point in writing content if no one will read it, so I will continue to engage, and I hope you all continue to as well.

©LARO. All rights reserved

--

--

LARO ✨✨
Never Stop Writing

I write about Sports exploring success and failure, sharing insights with readers. Dedicated father and husband building my business.