Bienvenido a Sevilla, España

Sharon Odom
Never Stop Writing
Published in
2 min readMay 2, 2024

--

Day 2 in Seville Spain.

We arrived yesterday afternoon in Faro after a lovely train ride from Porto, Portugal. A short walk to the bus station, where they charge 1€ to use the bathroom. The bus was a bit late, it was crowded and the driver needs to find another line of work because he didn’t like people too much. It took about 3 hours to reach Seville. But we made it.

The hotel was right across the bridge from the station. We got checked in and then went searching for dinner. We ended up at a bistro across the street, where we had tapas and drinks until the kitchen re-opened at 8 pm. After that, it was lights out – I was happy to go to sleep after getting up at 3:30 to catch the train.

Today we walked along the river and took some gorgeous photos. Ended up at Mercado de Traina, a giant mountain indoor market with restaurants and vendors for every type of food imaginable. Each place specializes in one thing – cheese, fruit, meat, fish. People everywhere eating, drinking, and enjoying themselves. The weather was glorious.

From there, we took a circuitous route taking pictures of the beautiful foliage and flowers. Finally, we ended up at a place where we exchanged dollars for Euros. I still need help figuring out the coins, there are no 1€ bills.

It’s fun to practice my Spanish, most people know some English so it’s not hard to communicate.

Got back to the room, and took more pictures from the rooftop deck. I had fruit for dinner, I was still full from brunch at the Mercado. My body isn’t used to so much food. I miss my protein smoothies and my “Whole Foods” way of eating, but that’s what vacations are for, right?

The sun sets very late. It’s still almost broad daylight until almost 9 pm.

Tomorrow I’m going to the grocery store and stock up on fruit, nuts and protein drinks. Then I think we’re going to find some flamenco dancers or go on a riverboat ride. Until mañana!

--

--