Happy Father’s Day Mr.AJ

Dad: My Superhero

Simran Mahal
Never Stop Writing
4 min readJun 16, 2024

--

Today is Father’s Day and I wanted to honor Mr. AJ who is my father. AJ was not his real name. AJ was a name jokingly given by the nurse who could not pronounce his real name.

Reminiscing childhood stories

Growing up, I have always seen him smiling and never complaining. He only got mad at me once when I was five years old as I was a mischievous child. He just elevated his pitch like you turn up the TV volume and I cried like the river. Then, he came to apologize and said he would never do it again. I did not know better. That was his way to discipline me.

Photo by Edward Howell on Unsplash

When I was 5 years, 11 months old AJ migrated to Germany for better job opportunities as he wanted to provide all his children a better education. After he left, I missed him every day and looked at his picture as there were no iPhone at that time.

Photo by Julia Solonina on Unsplash

While residing in Germany he called us every week, and it was the favorite time to speak to him for 10–20 minutes and asking him questions. He would often say what I am learning in school and have always been an evolved father. I remember one occasion he sent me this neon green bag pack, books,color sets and other stationary items. I flaunted it to all my cousins by displaying it on my study table that is what my dad sent me when I was in second grade.

Photo by SUSHMITA NAG on Unsplash

After he returned to India, He got me addicted to watching news, current affairs, world news. He was the reason I always excelled in general knowledge as I used to watch every news and read this newspaper called spectrum back in India. When we migrated to united states, I felt like we started our second innings and I see that determination in his eyes to do better every day and provide for his family.

Photo by Nicola Nuttall on Unsplash

Every certificate, trophy, grade I have received back in school, college my dad always cheered for me, and that immense support wants me to progress in life.

Photo by Jon Tyson on Unsplash

Dad’s Qualities: Kindness Echoes

He is patient and understanding. I appreciate him every single day and even when we have a small argument, we both let it go and then laugh about it. He is a joy to be around. I am thankful to God for giving me a father like him who exhibit kindness. He always has a smile on his face. He is an amazing father. He is humble, courteous, and compassionate. He is an empathetic and active listener.

Photo by Mei-Ling Mirow on Unsplash

Dad’s Advice

You are born to accomplish wonderful things in life, just trust the process and do not doubt yourself. Focus on yourself and become a lifelong learner.

Photo by Mockaroon on Unsplash

Final Thoughts

I am so proud of you Dad! You are my hero. Just like the periodic table, you have all the elements of an ideal father. Keep rocking and God bless you!

Thank you for reading! If you found this article valuable, I’d appreciate your support. Give it a view, clap, leave a comment, and consider following me for more content like this in the future!

--

--

Simran Mahal
Never Stop Writing

Mother/Wife/Lifelong learner/Writer/Active listener/Narrator/Reader