How to Overcome Fear in Life: Your Journey to Freedom and Courage

Iqra Ghafoor
Never Stop Writing
Published in
3 min read3 days ago
Photo by Aleksandr Popov on Unsplash

An old man was passing through a forest when suddenly he heard someone crying. When he went closer, he saw that a mouse was crying. The old man asked the mouse what is the matter. Why are you crying so much? The mouse said that I was a weak animal. There are many cats in the forest that eat mice.

I’m very afraid of cats so I always crawl into my own. I am tired of living in fear like this, I am crying and praying to Allah to make me a cat so that I can spend my life in peace without any fear.

He was an old good man, he felt sorry for this mouse, and he prayed to Allah. Then Allah changed him from a mouse to a cat. Now the timid mouse was very happy because he was no longer afraid of the cat.

After a few days, the old man passed by again, and the rat, who had turned into a cat, was again crying loudly. The old man asked what had happened now. He replied that for some days I was delighted as a cat, then the dogs in the forest attacked me one day. I saved my life with great difficulty.

Now I am very afraid of dogs. I am praying to Allah to make me a dog. The old man then prayed to Allah and the rat became a dog. He was now very happy to be a dog. One day he was wandering in the forest when a lion attacked him.

The dog was lucky to escape from the lion by hiding in a bush. Now he was afraid of the lion, now he was shaking with fear and was crying. The old man asked what do you want now, the mouse said I wanted to be a lion.

The lion is very powerful, and he is not afraid of anyone. After becoming a lion, he was very happy and felt that he would not be afraid of anyone.

One day he was walking in the forest when the hunters followed him. It was difficult for him to escape from the hunters because of the body. He got worried and then came to the old man and asked him for a solution to this problem.

This old man said, “Whatever you become, you will be afraid, you have become a lion, even the king of the forest, but still you live in fear because this fear is inside you, your heart is the heart of a timid mouse. You will have to end your fear yourself.”

Now this rat understood that to live bravely, one has to overcome the fear inside him, he decided to change himself and live without fear and became a rat again.

Moral of the Story

Many of us live with some sort of fear like this rat. Fear is a disease that never lets us get anywhere in life, it eats away at our potential, it stops us from moving forward because by fear we either change our decisions or change ourselves. Even successful people feel fear but they don’t let this fear dominate them. They overcome their fear, face it, and conquer it.

Reflect on your fears, What’s stopping you? Share your thoughts in the comment section, and let’s support each other in this journey together.

Thanks for taking the time to read my story!

--

--

Iqra Ghafoor
Never Stop Writing

Hi! I am a passionate writer and reader. I write down the moment's thoughts.