On the Train to Spain

Picturesque South Portugal.

Sharon Odom
Never Stop Writing

--

We left Porto-Campanha station at 5:32 am., scheduled to arrive in Faro at 11:23. From there we’ll take a bus to Seville, Spain.

Traveling by high-speed train is much more relaxing than flying. We’re not packed in like sardines. The seats are spacious, with plenty of legroom. It’s quiet and peaceful. You can get up and walk around.

The gentle swaying of the train attempts to lull me to sleep, but I fight to stay awake because I don’t want to miss a minute of the gorgeous Portugal countryside rolling by my window. Absolutely lovely.

Portuguese countryside

I wish public transportation in America was half as efficient as it is in Europe. People walk everywhere, and seem to share the small roads quite easily with the multitude of cars, buses, motorcycles and scooters jostling for space. Again the term, organized chaos comes to mind.

Porto was lovely but a bit chilly and windy for my taste. I’m looking forward to the warmth of Spain and the chance to practice my Spanish. This will be the true test of all those hours spent with Duolingo. After all that studying, watch – everyone will probably know English!

--

--