The Death of The High Street

When shops are closing all around you

CharlieNCR
Never Stop Writing
2 min readJun 17, 2024

--

What is your high street / town centre like?

Mine is dying under the stress of the recession and the pull of online shopping.

Recently, I have seen over five shops close in my local area, including large retail groups.

Photo by Gary Butterfield on Unsplash

I feel that now is the time for the government and local authorities to decide what they will do with all these empty shops.

It does not make for a good, vibrant local feeling when shop, after shop, after shop closes.

I feel that without a town centre, many areas do not develop well, and there is a decline in the people who want to live there, as well as those who want to visit.

I think we really have to think about the shift in buying and consumer shopping.

We need shopping centres and town centres that are fit for the era we are living in now.

There are shops in my local area that, I have been informed , have been boarded up for years.

Just an eyesore.

It is a shame, as maybe they could be transformed into work-live spaces.

Presently, we have such a shortage of housing in the UK that this would be a good measure.

I think these spaces work very well and give the opportunity for local shops to at least have customers who are local to purchase items.

What is it like where you live? Is it the same, or is it any different?

The death of the high street seems to be a real thing!

CharlieNCR

Hi I am Charlie —

I love to travel and skydive. So far, my skydiving experience has been limited to a simulator in London, but I hope to take to the real skies soon. I regularly play football and go to the gym.

I am a health enthusiast. I’ve been an Arsenal FC supporter for the last 20 years! From when I was 10!

Like to play games online.

This is Charlie NCR! I’m glad to be here and it is nice to meet you.

--

--