Un-electrified

Could you do it and maintain it?

Madara Greer Sr.
Never Stop Writing

--

Created using the AI app from the PlayStore CreArt.

Not so long ago, my family of five was forced to live electric-free for a large amount of time.

The day the power was turned off. I had been stressing to the point of panic. Worried about how I would keep an active household maintained. When the dreaded day finally arrived, I felt like the end of the world was here.

Living in the modern-day USA and not having power in the home, has been experienced by more families every day. And I can tell you it is not the end.

We were lucky in that we had a small generator we could start up for meals and in the evening for a couple of fans to keep us cool during the hot humid Missouri summers.

But the generator used gas and we were trying to save money to pay an $1800 bill.

With the cost of gas and the noise torturing our neighbors, we tried to use the generator as little as possible.

The struggles I faced to keep the children occupied, healthy, and clean would become second nature. Everyone understood the homework needed to be completed before sunset.

We bought a large metal horse troth to fill with water every morning and leave it out in the hot sun for bathwater.

--

--

Madara Greer Sr.
Never Stop Writing

Hey! Can you please give me some responses? I'm practically begging here. Just a hey, why, or shut up and leave me alone. Just a morsel of interaction.