MEMOIR-ISH

Who I am

I’ve been meaning to write…

Melissa Lemay
Never Stop Writing
Published in
6 min readMay 24, 2024

--

“I have no special talents. I am only passionately curious.” — Albert Einstein

A colorful mural on the side of a building surrounded by trees
A mural on the Warwick to Ephrata Rail Trail

I love this mural along the Warwick to Ephrata Rail Trail. I love all things creativity and art, especially poetry. I love to read, though I do not have as much time to read as I once did.

I love being outdoors. There is extraordinary beauty in the outside world. I find myself frequently thinking that we’re doing it wrong. In our industrially capitalist society, where everything is mass-produced, we are missing lots of things.

Me, with tattoos, wearing a shirt that says “BUT FIRST COFFEE”
Self-explanatory

I love coffee and I love it unapologetically. If I did live in the forest, though I’m sure I wouldn’t be a great candidate for that now that I’ve been domesticated, I have faith I would find a way (or someone) to make coffee. Hopefully, in this hypothetical reality I would live in Hawaii, or better yet, Brazil or Ethiopia. You choose.

I have a bunch of shitty tattoos that I don’t like much, yet I am constantly asked about them. I got many of them when I was younger and hadn’t developed my voice yet. They all have meanings, they aren’t just arbitrarily selected. I had…

--

--