Will You be My Psychiatrist?

Power of listening

Simran Mahal
Never Stop Writing
2 min readJun 14, 2024

--

An important message !

Last night, I just put my son to sleep and tried to put my phone on DND- so no one could disturb me during my sleep. While I was about to hit that do not disturb. I received a message on the phone that states hello sim……. I really need to talk, so whenever u have free time to please give me a call on my WhatsApp.

Photo by Eyestetix Studio on Unsplash

Donning my listening hat !

This message was from my cousin who lives in New Zealand and when she called her first word, she said Hello and then said will you be my psychiatrist.I was shocked, stunned and froze for a moment as I could not process it. After taking a deep breath, I said yes, and then she said, “I know you don’t judge people and will actively listen to me, and that is why I called you.” She mentioned me her dilemmas and she explained them to me and needed my input on it. She has an array of emotions about something that has happened in the past and it was bothering her, and she needed to clear her head. I offered my support and asked her open-ended questions. She told me the whole story and she mentioned one part about what people will say. I told her people always have something to say whether you are fat or lean, tall, or short, fit, or obese, working or not working, happy or depressed, poor, or wealthy. I told her she is the author of her own story, and no one is authoring her story and advised her to divert her mind to positivity rather than dwelling her mind on people baseless opinions.

Photo by Brett Jordan on Unsplash

Healthy result of conversation !

At the end of our conversation, she was relieved and expressed gratitude for three aspects, one I listened to her and without forming an opinion. Two, I gave her the solution to a problem. Three, to give her time to hold this important conversation.

Photo by Dan Meyers on Unsplash

Thank you for reading! If you found this article valuable, I’d appreciate your support. Give it a view, clap, leave a comment, and consider following me for more content like this in the future!

--

--

Simran Mahal
Never Stop Writing

Mother/Wife/Lifelong learner/Writer/Active listener/Narrator/Reader