Will Your Writing Journey Take Ten Years?

Time is not the enemy. It is the Friend That will lead you to where you want to be.

--

Ten years seems so far away. It seems like a lifetime to me.

But do we not spend over ten years in school, do we not learn skills and become experts?

Photo by Daniel Eledut on Unsplash

Amazon only started to make a profit after ten years.

J.K Rowling took ten years before Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone was published.

Saunders took ten years of trying different recipes before he succeeded with a recipe that became the foundation of KFC.

Photo by Artem Maltsev on Unsplash

But in between those ten years, you are not standing still; you continue to move ahead.

To live and to learn.

But now, with the mindset that something may take ten years, perhaps you now consider how you will make it happen.

Not when it will happen, but how you will plot that path to your goal.

Photo by Jason Yuen on Unsplash

Consider how you will make it happen.

Not the time it will take. Step by step — break it down into manageable bit size pieces!

You do not want to choke!

Whether it’s achieving financial freedom, starting a start-up, writing a book, buying a home, or starting a family, all of this can be broken down into small manageable bites!

Then you see you can take the pressure off yourself. This allows you to plot a path that has enjoyment along the way. What is the point in living if we have no enjoyment? If you save all your money and do not at least live a life.

Life is here for the living, so live it.

Oprah Winfrey started her career in media in 1976 as a news anchor. It took her ten years before she launched The Oprah Winfrey Show, which premiered in 1986.

Photo by Julia Taubitz on Unsplash

You can break those ten years into manageable chunks.

You can perceive it not as one whole but as several independent parts. Now, we have two years, three years, four years, five years, and so on.

You do not want to choke!

Time does indeed move faster than we think. It is only slow when we sit, lament, and do nothing.

Then we hear the words, “I am bored and it is too hard’.

Push forward and make headway each day, year, and then decide. You will see how far you have come.

Ten years will be gone before you can say — ‘Will my journey take ten years?’

Finally it has taken me ten years of teaching to leave the school system and set up a tutoring agency online! Ten years of trial and error!

Let’s not become sick of time. Time is not the enemy here. It is the friend that will lead you to where you want to be.

I wrote this for me. I am very impatient and often compare my progress to others! Some days I need to remind myself in writing what needs to be done and what I should not be doing!

By Sophia Tell- Stories 🤓📢🤓

📎About why I, Sophia, write about writing:

Some people think that unless they are experts, they have nothing to share. We all have lived experiences, and each one of those is a learning process for all. Like the time I tried to make a vegan birthday cake, and it looked more like a pancake!

The children I tutor often share many experiences with me — things I did not know. Many of the skills and talents they possess, I do not have. Some of them are as young as 6.

So, no matter where you are in life, someone can enjoy your experiences and what you’ve learned.

If you are doing it and trying it, why not share it? That’s why I write about writing, even though I’m still figuring it out myself.

It helps to say what I am learning. It helps me to think about what I am doing. Hopefully, it can help you if you too.

I want to share my journey.

Writing Tips For Medium - What I have Learned

63 stories
woman, little smiling, winking, with glasses, a studio shot, vivid bright contrasting colors, studio shot, vivid contrasting colors, single flat background full body shot

Have a Fabulous Day.

--

--