They Said You Can’t Grow up and Be ‘Just a Housewife’

Fchaudhry
Never Stop Writing
Published in
3 min read12 hours ago

Yes I can. The life path society shunned so harshly.

Photo by Galina Kondratenko on Unsplash

The last generation went so extreme in the name of equality for women and feminism. We told our girls they could become doctors, lawyers, pilots, or anything but a housewife. The life path that served our ancestors for generations suddenly became a shameful one and one where we would call our girls lazy for even entertaining the idea.

At the midst of my midlife crisis, it dawned upon me that the missing jigsaw piece was I had been living inauthentically for almost two decades as a ‘successful’ accountant in a career that was unfulfilling, an imposter faking enthusiasm and excitement.

I could never empathise or express the same passion and excitement as my peers over their choice of work. My job well, it was just something I did, I did well, it paid well, well enough for me to only work 6–8 months and then go to another continent and not look at another spreadsheet for as long as I could avoid it.

It dawned upon me recently I want to be a housewife. I’ve always wanted to be a housewife, and I wonder how many others are out there that want to choose the same life path if they had the choice, but society never entertained or encouraged such a choice unless they are a mother, I don’t want children, just the dogs please.

It’s a life choice that should be reintroduced at schools and one where girls know they have a choice if they want to work or not – but also be educated and shown what they need to do to attain their goals as the ultimate housewife – everything from your appearance and how you conduct yourself to ensuring you have high emotional intelligence to meet all needs of your partner. Exactly like an Au-Pair or a Nanny in the Royal family.

To aspire marrying a man who is extremely rich, successful, kind and loving requires the same kind of hard work and dedication that which is put into becoming a dentist or an architect and let me explain why.

A girl would need to be more than just ‘pretty’, to attain a man of such a calibre she must reflect the same qualities, intellect and cultural knowledge and some actual ‘work experience’ so when he comes home and expresses his frustration in regards to colleagues/work project she can empathise because she has also had a ‘real job.’ All the qualities she wants in a man, she must equally hold them herself from speaking several languages to being well travelled.

It would require the same kind of hard work and dedication that any other job would require, waking up at the same time to ensure his breakfast is cooked right, clothes ironed and any admin in regards to house work or his travels is successfully attended to. The house is clean, dinner is on time, and the dogs and plants are looked after, in addition she must be well educated should hard times fall upon them or they break up that she is able to provide for herself.

My friends ‘I would get bored being just a house wife’

Not realising that piano lessons on Monday, tennis on Tuesday, baking cakes for the local homeless shelter on Wednesday, writing on Thursday etc and then evenings spent attending to your husband can be so fulfilling and satisfactory for some women. I am one of them women.

I want to be ‘just a housewife’ or whatever you want to call it, and I hope the next generation of women also know that this is a perfectly acceptable life choice. We no longer need to prove our equality or anything by getting a job.

--

--

Fchaudhry
Never Stop Writing

Fifi and I…exploring the mindset of a dysfunctional 38-year-old, who relies on having a bunny to nurture her inner child as she goes through a mid life crisis