A Life of Impact through Vulnerability

Daniel Benarroch
Nevo Network
4 min readJan 16, 2022

--

In Judaism, there is an important concept called Tikun Olam (or “Fixing the World”), which serves as a guide for many people to live a meaningful life by aiming to leave the world better than they entered it. Today, I would reframe it as the pursuit for impact, or social impact. The question of how to make the world a better place has followed philosophers, political theorists, activists, scientists and entrepreneurs, among others, since the beginning of time. Beyond religion, it is an idea that is inherent to the dying nature of humanity: legacy. If we do not make an impact in the world, how will we be remembered?

Most people, when they think about impact, they think about a large vision like cleaning the ocean, or ending poverty, or they think about one-time acts like volunteering, or helping people in need. These are absolutely necessary, and are inherently impactful. That being said, these do not necessarily mean that you are living a life of impact. A life of impact is a mindset of leadership, an courageous attitude towards life that defines your self-respect, your intentions and your interactions with the world.

But…

How do we lead a life of impact?

This last year I learnt that being vulnerable is the most powerful tool we have to impact the world around us. As a man, I was taught that vulnerability is a weakness, because if I let others see my authentic self, I will be in a weak position. However, and as Brené Brown writes, this is a myth — “in truth, it is our most accurate measure of courage […]. When we dare to drop the armor that protects us from feeling vulnerable, we open ourselves to the experiences that bring purpose and meaning to our lives”.

In essence, vulnerability is the most magical characteristic that we have as humans, exposing our deepest self and enabling for truly meaningful connections with our surroundings. The reason I say that it is magical is because when you allow yourself to be vulnerable, your will find not only that you feel most fulfilled, but also that you open yourself to the experience of serendipity.

Surely being vulnerable is not an easy task, as I have previously mentioned in my posts, but it is a worthy intention and goal. Most of the time, we do not necessarily see the impact of our vulnerability right away, it may take time as our actions influence people around us, creating a sort of butterfly effect. The key is consistency.

I learned pretty early on that by simply saying thank you to someone for their work (even if it is their work), consistently, for weeks or months, can make a meaningful impact in their life, and yours. I remember Mari, the cook of my school. Every single day I would say thank you, stop to ask her how she was doing and tell her she looked great. Mind you, this took basically no effort and it made her feel seen and appreciated. She would always make sure to serve me seconds, and thirds (!!!), something she would never do with others.

On a more serious note, the experiences and conversations that most impacted me throughout my life were the ones when someone was truly vulnerable on the other side, be it my family, my friends or even strangers.

During the last year, I have made it a point to become vulnerable at every turn, to show up authentically with every possibility, sharing my experience and my fears. It has made my relationships exponentially better, as I can connect deeply with more people. It has given me the opportunity to get to know myself and grow as a result, knowing what I deserve and getting creative for how to get it. Most importantly, I have gotten dozens of messages from friends and family telling me how my posts have already impacted and inspired them.

All because I decided to be vulnerable and write about my healing journey.

💡 Pro tip: sometimes the most impactful actions are those small moments of vulnerability that trigger a chain of reactions, of good deeds, of people who “get out of their own head” to see others around them and be present in the moment. So take the lead and go out there to make a change.

For the full list of posts, see The Real 30 Under 30.

--

--

Daniel Benarroch
Nevo Network

Loving husband and father. Mathematician by training, Jewish Philosopher by hobby. Lead Cryptographer @ QED-it