How My Weaknesses Became My Strengths

Daniil Chernov
Nevo Network
Published in
4 min readJan 19, 2022

For a while I had impostor syndrome as an analyst (sorry for a fancy word), until I found out what I considered my weaknesses are actually my strengths.

There were always great analysts around me. And I never was the most advanced technically. Everyone around me used more sophisticated tools, built more complex models and fussy solutions. I felt like I’m obviously far behind their level. Everything I did was so much more simple.

I wanted to learn some of the advanced tools and even took a course during the first lockdown. Remember how we all gave ourselves these promises of becoming a better version of ourselves in the first 2 weeks while we were stuck at home? I was learning but all the time I had this conflict inside. Why am I learning something that I’m not really interested in and that I can live without? Why can’t I just keep doing what I did? So far everyone was happy with my job, including me. It was just my fear that I’m not good enough.

But then several things happened one after another.

First, I took a personality test, kind of like MBTI but a bit different. What traits do you expect from an analyst? Obviously, he should be an introvert and very logical. Probably theoretical, to make sure everything is correct. Well, my result was completely opposite to that. Extraverted, practical, people-focused. Yeah, an analyst. I recognized myself in the description but was confused that it’s not what I thought is expected from me.

Second, I took the Clifton Strengths test, which I highly recommend everyone to take. The test costs money and is a bit long, but it’s totally worth it. Turns out my strength was in combination of analytical & strategic thinking with relationships building. This is exactly what I was doing, but I never considered it a strength.

Third, I received my 360 performance review results. For those who are not familiar with this method, it’s when you receive anonymous feedback from your manager, peers and direct reports. I had feedback from 16 people. What did I see there? Nobody talked about the complexity of solutions or sophisticated models. What did people really care about? Below are some actual quotes from the review (yeah I saved everything!)

“Always kind, always helpful, always pleasant to work with”

“One of the most positive persons in our company:)”

“Daniil approaches matters with positivity and always has a smile on his face. At the same time, he is not afraid to challenge the forums and offer his personal opinion”

“He is very knowledgeable and is an expert in his job, Daniil also aims to dig the truth no matter how hard the task is”

“Delivers great results to the team”

“Actionable insights are key for decision making! There are a lot of people who can slice and dice data, yet, there are very few people you can derive valuable actionable insights from data. This is clearly where I see your strong point. Keep building on that and hone that skill further and you will always be ahead.”

“Thinking out of the box. He’s trying to find a new way to make things done even if others didn’t see the opportunities.”

Don’t worry, there was also feedback about what I should improve :). Like my prioritization skills that I’m still working on.

Everyone wants to work with positive people, who have a can-do attitude and are experts in their field. In analysts people value actionable insights that actually affect the business and help making decisions.

Turned out that exactly what I was doing this whole time was the thing. What I thought was my weakness turned out to be my strength. From then, I’m building on my strengths and not my weaknesses.

Does it mean that everyone wants me as their analyst now? Absolutely, not. There are companies that need their analysts to do hardcore deep technical stuff. It simply means that I’m not the best fit for them and that’s perfectly fine. Instead, I can choose to be in a place where my character and my strengths will fit. This way I can bring the most impact, so do you.

I did not write this to brag. I want to share this so it might help you. If you feel that you’re not enough, maybe it means that you don’t know what your strengths are. Start with these (or other) tests and ask for feedback.

You are unique. There are 34 different qualities in the CliftonStrengths test. It means that the chance to have all of them in the same order is 1 in 34! (factorial). Meaning 1 in 300000000000000000000000000000000000000 (there are 38 zeros, yes). So you are INDEED unique.

Be yourself and make your unique impact in this world.

--

--

Daniil Chernov
Nevo Network

I moved to Israel from Russia. Product Growth Analytics at Wix.com. Nevo Network fellow. Let’s connect — www.linkedin.com/in/daniilchernov