There’s a Trend of Horror and Evil and It’s Affecting Our Kids

Jocelyn H.
New Age Hippies
Published in
3 min readApr 26, 2024

--

The Allure of Horror: A Personal Journey

When I was younger, I loved reading scary stories and watching movies that kept me on the edge of my seat. The thrill and adrenaline rush were exhilarating. I would lie in bed, afraid to sleep after a scary book, or avoid the bathroom, fearing the monster under my bed. Nightmares of terrible things haunted me, and I’d sprint up the stairs after turning off the lights, chased by the darkness. Sound familiar? However, once I became a mom, I could no longer handle the graphic gore, and my interest in horror waned.

Horror’s Grip on the Younger Generation

To my surprise, my 11-year-old son has developed a similar enthusiasm for horror. He loves drawing demonic characters like Bendy from “Bendy and the Ink Machine” and Freddy from “Five Nights at Freddy’s.” As parents, we strive to protect our children from such influences, but the media’s allure is strong.

Shedding Fear with Maturity

Interestingly, as my interest in horror movies faded, so did my fears of the dark and monsters. No longer did graphic images invade my dreams or imagination. This shift made me wonder: what draws us to these horrifying things?

The Sinful Pleasure of Fear

As a follower of Christ, I recognize that sin is pleasurable and fun. My pastor often says, “If you’re not having fun while sinning, you’re not doing it right.” We’re all born sinners, and our bodies naturally gravitate toward sin. The media, it seems, exploits this, deliberately promoting dark and sinister themes to both children and adults.

The Trend of Cool Evil

There’s a growing trend that portrays the dark side as “cool.” Villains in movies and shows are often depicted as more powerful and intriguing than heroes. My son, given the choice, often prefers villains because they seem “cooler.” This glorification of evil is pervasive, subtly influencing young minds.

Innocence Lost: The Hidden Dangers in Media

My love for Halloween and Disney movies with magic felt innocent until I discovered unsettling truths, like the involvement of pedophiles in creating kids’ shows at Nickelodeon. This revelation opened my eyes to the hidden dangers lurking in media content aimed at children.

The Spiritual Battle: Staying Vigilant

So, what’s behind this trend of horror and evil? I believe it’s a battle within the spiritual realm, manifesting in various ways and growing over the years. Subliminal messaging in media is real, and it’s crucial to stay discerning and alert.

Conclusion: A Call for Awareness

As parents and guardians, it’s our duty to be vigilant and protect our children from harmful influences. The trend of glorifying horror and evil is a concerning phenomenon that requires our attention and action. Let’s stay alert and discerning, guiding our children toward healthier and more positive interests.

Join the conversation: What are your thoughts on the media and horror films? Leave a comment below.

--

--

Jocelyn H.
New Age Hippies

Sharing my journey through self healing, parenting, nature loving, and story telling