America Stands Up Against Discrimination: Voices of the Protestors

#NoBanNoWall
The New Age
Published in
5 min readFeb 3, 2017

All around the country, Americans are saying it loud and clear: We won’t stand for discrimination. Tomorrow, they’ll say it again.

Protestors peacefully march on Pennsylvania Ave. from the White House to the U.S. Capitol on January 29, 2017. Photo courtesy of John Jack Photography.

Tomorrow, February 4, concerned Americans from diverse backgrounds will march peacefully from the White House to the U.S. Capitol and the Supreme Court to deliver once again a clear message to the doorsteps of President Trump, members of Congress, and the courts: The Muslim ban has got to go. The ban, and any others like it, are unconstitutional, immoral, and antithetical to America’s founding values. The ban’s immediate consequences have been dire for many, including valid visa holders and legal residents. Further, as leading national security experts have made clear, it doesn’t make the country any safer.

We asked the thousands of people signed up to march why they’re coming. Here’s what they had to say:

“I’m marching because I believe that this ban violates the foundations that the US was supposed to be built upon. I believe that all people are created equally and should be treated with equal respect no matter their race or religion. I am marching because I believe that it is not only our right to protest against discrimination but also our duty.”

— Elizabeth

Peaceful protestor holds a sign at the march from the White House to the U.S. Capitol to protest the Muslim ban. January 29, 2017. Photo courtesy of John Jack Photography.

“I’m a preschool teacher from Reston, VA and I’m marching because I have never been more aware of our shortcomings as a nation than in this particular moment. This country owes a debt of gratitude to past immigrants and refugees who have contributed so much greatness to the US and a debt of restitution to current or prospective immigrants and refugees who have been displaced by groundless and unethical conflict at the hands of our government. I march because phone calls and social media aren’t enough of an outlet for my anger at all of the injustices perpetrated by our current administration. And I march for myself because the only peace I get lately is from seeing so many other Americans with hearts for justice and equality in the streets.”

— Bethany

Protestors peacefully march on Pennsylvania Ave. from the White House to the U.S. Capitol on January 29, 2017. Photo courtesy of John Jack Photography.

“I grew up in an America that was kind to others. I grew up in America the brave and the kind and I was damn proud to be an American. Even on 9/11, our president was strong. He came out and encouraged us to bow our heads and mourn those that we lost, but didn’t encourage us to hate those that prayed to a different God. It’s the same concept that leads us to not hate or fear all Christians because of the KKK or Westboro Baptist Church.

So why do I march? It’s not because I hate America or I am unpatriotic. I march for a nation that stands strong in the face of fear and hate. A nation where I am not taught to discriminate against others because their God is different or their skin is a darker shade than mine. I march for a nation that loves and cares for others, that opens their arms to people who are suffering. I march because I disagree strongly with “America the Brave” being run by a president who spreads fear and hate. I march because the America I believe in does not slam the door in the face of innocent mothers, fathers, and children who are fleeing from their war-ravaged homes while they watched many people they knew and loved die right before them. I march because despite the hate that fills our government right now, I still believe in the America I grew up in, and I’m going to fight for that.”

— Kim

Protestors peacefully march on Pennsylvania Ave. from the White House to the U.S. Capitol on January 29, 2017. Photo courtesy of John Jack Photography.

“I march because I can see the writing on the wall. Because I see this administration vilifying Muslims and immigrants to distract from other changes that will hurt our country and benefit the wealthy. We saw this in the 1930’s. I wasn’t around to stop it then so I will make damn sure we stop it now.”

— Ben

Protestors peacefully march on Pennsylvania Ave. from the White House to the U.S. Capitol on January 29, 2017. Photo courtesy of John Jack Photography.

“I march for refugees, immigrants, and all those who have gone before me. I march to honor them by walking side by side in solidarity to defend and uphold the basic belief that all human beings deserve equal treatment. I march because I believe every person is worthwhile. I march because I come from a family of immigrants, as most do.

For over a century Lady Liberty has shined her light upon others, welcoming them to our great country; providing refuge, democracy, and a shot at the American Dream. I march because I cannot sit idle and watch that light go dim. I march because when we shut our doors to others, we limit our progress. I march because it’s the right thing to do.”

— Jonathan

Protestors peacefully march on Pennsylvania Ave. from the White House to the U.S. Capitol on January 29, 2017. Photo courtesy of Mike Beaty.

“Because my grandparents were immigrants. Because I’m Jewish and have seen this before. Because I’m American, and America is a nation of immigrants. Because I am human. The more important question to me is…why isn’t everyone marching?”

— Alexandra

Protestors peacefully march on Pennsylvania Ave. from the White House to the U.S. Capitol on January 29, 2017. Photo courtesy of John Jack Photography.

To learn more about the march, visit us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

--

--

#NoBanNoWall
The New Age

Join Peace for Iran once again to deliver a clear message to the doorsteps of President Trump, members of Congress & the courts: The Muslim ban has got to go.