True or False: Do what you love and the money will follow

Walter Reid
New!bies
Published in
2 min readApr 6, 2022

Honestly, there are a ton of things I love that I don’t think I’ll make money from. So, does the mere aspect of loving something mean I’ll be rewarded?

I’d argue not. If doing something that I loved made me money, I’d probably spend most of the time eating ice cream, watching mysteries and playing video games with my kids.

However, like many platitudes, there is a hidden truth in the statement.

So, let’s dissect the statement and see if we can make this true, while keeping the spirit intact.

“Do what you love and the money will follow.”

First, one of the challenges to the concept is that everyone even has a love that is just waiting to be discovered and exploited for financial advantage.

Some people do, while others do not. For every singer that becomes a pop sensation there are hundreds, if not thousands of people, destined to late night Saturday Karaoke sessions.

Instead, I’d seek to convince you that everyone instead has a purpose and may find activities to fulfill it.

Second, sure, loving something can lead to work opportunities, but it doesn’t have to. Because love isn’t a qualifier, it is an expression — a very complex emotion at that.

Therefore, I feel justifying purpose and success, makes more sense. Being passionate about a goal, means you are more likely to have success in that goal.

While success doesn’t neccessarily mean more money, studies do show that, in general, people who make more money also tend to be more successful at what they do. It’s this success that makes them feel good, not just the money itself. Money ends up being an outcome of the success.

So where did we land after all this.

“Love your purpose and success will follow.”

So, let me know what you think. Is the original statement better or this one?

--

--

Walter Reid
New!bies

I write for the uplifters, the engagers, and the passionate. My alter egos alter ego.