LIFE LESSONS

6 Lessons From the Michael Jordan Flight School Basketball Camp

We can all use the life lessons my son learned from Michael Jordan

Carol Lennox. LPC, M.Ed.
New Choices
Published in
6 min readSep 20, 2020

--

Photo by Howard Chai on Unsplash

My son and I walked from the dorm on the University of California Santa Barbara campus early one morning on his first day of camp. He was twelve, and I was…older. We heard the crashing of the early morning waves, and felt the ocean breeze that kept the California sun from being too hot.

As we neared the arena, we were all alone. A black car rolled up a few yards in front of us behind the arena, and out climbed all 6'6" of the GOAT, Michael Jordan. We were thunderstruck. Somehow it never occurred to us that either of us would see him that close-up at the camp.

My son urged me to go talk to him. “I can’t, Blake. I don’t have any makeup on! You go!”

“Mom, that doesn’t matter! Go on,” Blake urged. The urging went back and forth until Michael entered the back door to the arena. My son and I are chagrined and laugh about it even now.

Blake attended the camp for six years, every summer, from age twelve to seventeen. If I had to guess, I would say we were the ones there with the least money. The camp was filled with the children of celebrities and NBA players. The reason I was walking him…

--

--

Carol Lennox. LPC, M.Ed.
New Choices

Psychotherapist sharing new choices. Leans far Left. Mindfulness practitioner before it was cool. LPC, M.Ed. Helping you make a difference every day