Cats and Dates

Navigating the World of Dating Over 55: Lessons from My Cats

If you can rescue and tame one, you can keep them

Carol Lennox. LPC, M.Ed.
New Choices
Published in
5 min readAug 23, 2024

--

AI generated image by author Carol Lennox. LPC, M.Ed. with IStock license

I’ve dated in eras from no-sex-allowed dating, to anything goes free-wheeling in the late 70s and 80s, to whatever is going on now. It’s easier to just hang out with my cats. However, my numerous cats over the years have taught me lessons about dating.

Cat commitment versus people commitment

Monogamy is not strong among cats.

Same with many people in the dating world of older singles. They’ve either tried monogamy and didn’t like it, or were monogamous for many, many years and are suddenly free to let it all hang out.

Cats do practice a form of monogamy. I had a pair of mating cats before I had them spayed and neutered, and wound up with eight kittens.

I don’t know if Max and Cassia were in love in the way we define it, but they cared for each other.

Cassia was missing for a night. The next day, Max came to the front door meowing loudly. I opened the door, went outside, and told Max to find Cassia. He turned around, led me to a bush in the front yard, stopped, and looked up at me. I parted the branches of the bush, and Cassia was…

--

--

Carol Lennox. LPC, M.Ed.
New Choices

Psychotherapist sharing new choices. Leans far Left. Mindfulness practitioner before it was cool. LPC, M.Ed. Helping you make a difference every day