Grudge: Two Souls, One Stone

Esther A.
New Creation
Published in
4 min readAug 20, 2023
Photo by Louis Galvez on Unsplash

and give no opportunity to the devil.

-Ephesians 4 : 27

Shade had decided never to forgive Pam for what she did. How could her best friend treat her that way? Despite everything they went through together since their childhood days, Pam didn’t nominate her among those deserving of a promotion.

So what was the point of having a best friend that was part of the board of directors in the bank? “Complete waste of friendship,” She murmured. If she can’t be helpful to me, then I don’t need her around.

Pam kept trying to call Shade, but she never picked up. She sighed as she dropped the phone. “What could be the problem? We still spoke last week before the nomination list came out. Could it be that she thinks I’m the reason she wasn’t nominated? I mentioned her name and even tried to convince others, but they wanted someone with more qualifications.” , she thought.

If she keeps ignoring me instead of being mature and speaking to me about whatever is going through her mind, then she can get out for all I care. I want nothing to do with someone so childish”, Shade said.

Be kind to one another, tenderhearted, forgiving one another, as God in Christ forgave you.

— Ephesians 4 : 32

The devil is happy whenever there is a conflict between two people. He calls this “two souls, one stone.” Why get one soul when he can cause a rift between two people that will make them resent and hate each other? Thereby having a legal ground to prevent their prayers from being answered and make them disobey God by living in hatred.

Many times, people offend us, and it can be indeed difficult to forgive them and forget their offenses. We have emotions that can be easily triggered, especially if we do not control them. The easiest way for a believer to fall prey to the devil is to live in resentment.

And whenever you stand praying, forgive, if you have anything against anyone, so that your Father also who is in heaven may forgive you your trespasses.”

— Mark 11 : 25

The devil is a roaring lion, looking for whom to devour. That is why the Bible says, “Give no room to the devil.” The devil is not going to sit back and watch you live in anger without making use of that golden opportunity to make you commit more sin.

When we do not forgive, we create a crack in the wall that can give the devil an entrance into our lives to gain complete control of our thoughts. Hurt leads to anger, which leads to unforgiveness, causes bitterness, and makes us live with internal or external rage.

Internal rage can decrease our tolerance and increase our irritability. It makes us see everyone as evil and without good intentions. This can, in turn, make it easy for the enemy to isolate us and cause more havoc in our lives. Eventually, it becomes easy to grieve the Holy Spirit, and we become endangered.

Let all bitterness and wrath and anger and clamor and slander be put away from you, along with all malice.

— Ephesians 4 : 31

Betrayal, disrespect, and slander can be hurtful. The good news is Jesus understands whatever we go through because he has also experienced all these. He was betrayed, he was disrespected, and he was slandered. So whenever you are going through any of these, and you feel it is too much for you to bear, please take it to the Lord in prayer. We have a friend who cares for us.

Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest.

— Matthew 11 : 28

Remember that Jesus feels the pain that we feel. He hurts when we hurt and is sad when we cry. Pour out your heart to God and ask him to help you to forgive those who have hurt you. The truth is, we cannot achieve complete forgiveness by our might; it is only the Holy Spirit that can help us to forgive those who have hurt us. Hence, you need to ask the Holy Spirit for help, and he will comfort you and help you.

For we do not have a high priest who is unable to sympathize with our weaknesses, but one who in every respect has been tempted as we are, yet without sin.

— Hebrews 4 : 15

Repentance

Living in hurt can be burdensome, but God has sent his son, Jesus, to give us his light yoke. Thus, we can always exchange our hurt and pain for the peace, joy, and love of Jesus Christ. To access this, you must surrender your lives to Jesus Christ and invite him to control your soul completely. Kindly say this after me:

Lord Jesus, I believe that you died on the Cross of Calvary for my sins and that you love me dearly. Today I confess that you are my Lord and personal Savior. I surrender my life, body, soul, and spirit to you as I invite you to come and dwell in my heart. I confess and forsake every sin hindering me from experiencing your saving grace (mention the sin). Please accept me today, and make me free from the grip of death, hell, and sin. Thank you, Lord, in Jesus’ name I pray, Amen.

I pray that the Peace, Love, and Joy of the Most High God replaces every hurt in our hearts today in Jesus' name.

--

--

Esther A.
New Creation

Sharing the Good News one story at a time| Journalist| A Daughter of Zion| God is love