Prayer: A Recharge Tool

Esther A.
New Creation
Published in
4 min readNov 22, 2023
Photo by Jon Tyson on Unsplash

“pray without ceasing”

— 1 Thessalonians 5:17

There was a time I got an irresistible nudge to have a vigil but I was so tired, I brushed it away.

The next morning, I woke up extremely sick. It was unusual because there were no symptoms the previous day. I went to bed very healthy and agile but I woke up as sick as someone who had been down with malaria for a while. It was then I realized God had told me to pray to avert the attack of the devil.

When your phone battery is low, the only way to recharge it is by using a charger. Your phone becomes useless at that point until you charge it and that can stop you from doing a lot of things. It can cause delays and prevent you from finishing tasks.

Prayer is a weapon that we must use constantly to recharge our spiritual lives. Not praying regularly makes it difficult for believers to exercise their full authority and potential in the kingdom of God.

Prayer also draws you closer to God because it is fellowship between God and man. Just like you have regular conversations with your earthly parents, praying is about conveying your thoughts, worries, hurts, attacks, and other burdens to God. It shows you are including him in your life, you are carrying him along, even though he knows everything, (Philippians 4:6).

When you don’t pray, you are closing your access to the spiritual realm. You are limiting the voice of the Holy Spirit in you, you are setting yourself up to be more liable to temptations and the deceit of the devil.

Not being a prayerful Christian is a dangerous quality because it is in the place of prayer we empower our spirit man and subdue the flesh.

A man of God once said, whenever you do not feel like praying, just pray anyhow. Even if it is in whispers, even if it is by having conversations with God to let him know everything going on with you, even if it is through worship or speaking in tongues. Just pray.

COME AS YOU ARE

“If my people, which are called by my name, shall humble themselves, and pray, and seek my face, and turn from their wicked ways; then will I hear from heaven, and will forgive their sin, and will heal their land.”

— 2 Chronicles 7:14

Have you ever gone through that moment when you feel withdrawn from God? Where you feel unworthy to be in God’s presence because you have sinned and you think God definitely does not want to see your face? I think many of us, at one point in our lives, have gone through this.

However, the good thing is God has said regardless of how far away we are from him and how deep our sins are, he is still willing to forgive us if only we call on his name.

“Come now, let us reason together, says the. Lord : though your sins are like scarlet, they shall be as white as snow; though they are red like crimson, they shall become like wool.”

— Isaiah 1:18

The devil will try to keep you far away from going to God in prayer. This is because he knows that it is easier to control you and turn you into a puppet when you do not pray.

It is easier for him to manipulate you to sin when you are disconnected from the Holy Spirit, discouraged, and not in constant fellowship with God.

Pray regularly to maintain intimacy with God, and so that you won’t become the devil’s puppet.

Repentance

The prayer of a sinner is an abomination to the Lord, (Prov. 15:8). That is why it is important to surrender your life completely to Christ or rededicate your life to Christ if you’ve made mistakes in the past. To accept Jesus into your life, Kindly say this:

Lord Jesus, I believe that you died on the Cross of Calvary for my sins and that you love me dearly. Today I confess that you are my Lord and personal Savior. I surrender my life, body, soul, and spirit to you as I invite you to come and dwell in my heart. I confess and forsake every sin hindering me from experiencing your saving grace (mention the sin). Please accept me today, and make me free from the grip of death, hell, and sin. Thank you, Lord, in Jesus’ name I pray, Amen.

Congratulations on joining the body of Christ! Kindly find and attend a Bible-believing church to help you grow in your faith.

--

--

Esther A.
New Creation

Sharing the Good News one story at a time| Journalist| A Daughter of Zion| God is love