Refined by Fire

One minute of inspiration for your day.

Karen Vizzard
New Creation
1 min readAug 8, 2023

--

Melting gold
Photo by Brian Penny on Unsplash

“And I will bring the third part through the fire, refine them as silver is refined, and test them as gold is tested. They will call on My name, and I will answer them; I will say ‘They are my people,’ and they will say, ‘The Lord is my God.’” Zechariah 13:9 NASB

There is a line in Lauren Daigle’s song, You Say, which asks, “Am I more than just the sum of every high and every low?” Often, this is how we live our lives — high on Sunday at church, and low on patience with our coworkers or neighbors during the week.

How do we escape this roller coaster?

Refinement by God.

The trouble is, many of us want the results of eternal joy and peace, but are afraid of the process of refinement. We think we can skip ahead, leaving impurities that hinder true obedience to the Holy Spirit. Obedience from obligation does not last. Only obedience from an overflow of love and power from the Holy Spirit inside of us lasts.

Give us grace to be in awe of Your love and power, and may the fear of Lord erase all other fears and impurities.

--

--

Karen Vizzard
New Creation

Christian, writer, photographer, NASM CPT. See more at https://mylampstand.com There’s a 96.7% chance you‘ll be happy you did! ←not a real statistic