8 Tips For a Shy Developer To Handle Customer Support

… or for who is starting now

Sara Menoncin
A Developer in Office
4 min readApr 28, 2020

--

Picture by chepté cormani

I started my software developer career after I dropped University in 2016. In the first year, I always referred to my boss or other internal coworkers. During the personal annual meeting, I told my boss I would have enjoyed having contact with customers. To me, it was like taking a big leap in the dark. I didn’t know what to expect, but I was super excited “to look out of the window”. He accepted.

I got my first customer a few weeks later. I had to maintain old software products my boss developed fifteen years ago. He never taught me how they worked, how to install them, or other particular specifications. Every time I had to ask or figure it out by myself.

One day, I was sitting at my desk. In front of me, there was a virtual machine with Windows XP installed on it. The phone was on my right. I waited as much as I could before dialing the number.
“Good morning. This is Sara from DevTeam. Am I speaking to Sabrina?” “Hello, yes” it’s what I heard on the other side.
Breathe.

#1 Breathe
Before you pick up the phone or go talk with the customer, breathe.
With deep breaths, you can take control of your body very easily, and your mind will be clearer. You will feel relaxed and focused on your goal. So, breathe.

#2 Think
Be aware of what you are going to do before anything else happens. It can be helpful to feel more confident about yourself. Think about what you can control like your words, your mood, or your attitude. Think about different scenarios. The best is when you will be able to lead the conversation.

#3 Act
Customers love when you have a solution ready, or you can solve their problems in five minutes. We all know the majority of times is not like that. You have to research and try different ways. Tell your customer what you’re planning to do before starting anything. They will feel involved, and the customer will appreciate it. Asking information to your customer while you’re doing your research could be helpful to not waste time. For example, if the problem is on a new entry, ask how they entered data.

#4 Solutions
When proposing your solution, you need to transfer determination to the other person. Your solution is right. I know this one is not easy, but I used this trick to help me: to act like I was in a movie. Everything is fake there so it’s easier to say something, right? Then, play your solution. This will make you extremely confident.

#5 Don’t panic when you don’t know something
Don’t panic if anyone asks you something you don’t know. Try to not tangle in your words. You can’t be omniscient. Take a few seconds to figure out your answer in your mind. No one expects you to answer back right after the question is asked.

#6 Admit your ignorance
If you don’t know something, just say it. Tell them you will take your time to make research and speak to your coworkers to find a solution. If what they ask you is not about your field, say that one of your colleagues will contact them. In this way you’re not denying help, moreover, you look responsible because you reach out to someone else. On the other side, the customer won’t feel abandoned.

#7 Ask for help
When you can’t figure out a solution, always ask your coworkers. You could also ask them how to handle a customer. Maybe there some “best practice” to follow in your company.

#8 Don’t say yes to every request
It’s important to set limits on what you can do and the decisions you can take. For example, if a customer asks you to implement a new feature, let them know you will discuss it with your team leader, boss, or project manager. If you don’t set limits, you probably end up performing tasks you don’t have to do. The customer will think you’re always available for their requests. That can put you in a source of stress, or violate company’s policies as well as customer-care streams.

Wrapping it up. You need to focus on your goal. In this case, finding a solution which is suitable for your customer. In order to achieve this, think, prepare, and be confident. Don’t feel ashamed to do something wrong. You’re a human.

*All the names in this story are fake, except mine.

--

--

Sara Menoncin
A Developer in Office

During the day I’m a software developer. At night.. I try to write something! Reach me at sara.menoncin.writing@gmail.com