Forest Thru the Trees

I spent the fourth decade of my life running ultra endurance trail events. I did this in search of solace through taxing the body in hopes of finding a salve for my monkey mind. These trails were always my companion.

Chris Perillo
New Earth Consciousness
1 min readAug 15, 2024

--

Photo by author; Chris Perillo. Point Reyes, CA

Vibrant greens to the left and right.
A dusted brown beneath my flight.
An army of soldiers stand tall in might
With a glimpse of the sea just in sight.

Sometimes the soul must lead the way.
My feet, the vehicle that’s here to play.
It’s always the journey I must obey
In this complex existence, and dubious days.

I feel fortunate and blessed to escape
The doldrums of my mind and anxious states.
Portraits aren’t always green or blue or brown
There too are times, that are solemn and down.

My eyes, it seems, have viewed a lot.
My heart, it too has felt a lot.
My arms, they too have carried a lot.
My legs, these legs, have been asked a lot,

I aspire to always Ask and Carry and See and Feel
My way to the next day; the next tree; the next step
And labored breath.

--

--

Chris Perillo
New Earth Consciousness

Seeking an outlet for thoughts and musings amongst creatives who see life as genuinely inspiring, uplifting and depthful. Husband, Dad, PT, Outdoor enthusiast.