Photo by Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

How To Achieve True Freedom

Not having enough was my greatest fear. Not anymore.

Matheus H Macedo
6 min readNov 7, 2023

--

My whole life I’ve just wanted enough money to be comfortable, after growing up poor, I just wanted stability, to be free. Free of worry. Free to do what I wanted. Last night, that belief changed.

Having money isn’t freedom, in fact, it’s the opposite. As much as having plenty of material needs met means you can do anything, which feels like freedom, it also makes you beholden to it to feel safe, to be okay, to feel free enough to express yourself, maybe all the nice clothes and status makes you feel worthy.

True freedom is having nothing and still being at peace.

There’s nothing wrong with living well, not all wealth people are villains, but if you are not free within first, or learn to rely on yourself for validation, peace and love, you will always be dependent on something outside of you to keep you happy.

Being at peace within yourself means you can be in the worst of circumstances, or simply unpleasant ones, and be okay and unafraid.

I have allowed myself to fall into one of these circumstances, the thing I feared most, losing all my money and maybe having to move back with parents, friends, or in my car. This is happening now, I am not afraid.

--

--

Matheus H Macedo
New Earth Consciousness

​Matheus Macedo writes essays, books, screenplays, he believes story creates empathy and empathy creates change. ​ ​He lives in Los Angeles. Mhmacedo.weebly.com