Promotions

How to Get Kicked Out of a FB Group for a Medium Post

The diversity of “rules” in different Facebook groups is confusing!

Alan Lew
New Earth Consciousness
6 min readMar 24, 2021

--

by JULIAN MASON

“How dare you promote your website on my group!”

That is an edited version of a message I received recently after posting one of my Medium articles on a Facebook group, after which I was removed from that group.

Facebook Groups

Following the advice in an article by Dr Mehmet Yildiz, I joined about 20 Facebook (FB) groups that discuss topics I write about.

These range in size from under 1000 to close to about 200,000 members. I use these groups to (1) get ideas and inspiration on topics to write about, and (2) to share my own ideas and articles. I usually make a comment when I share my articles, or even without including an article link.

The Diverse and Shifting Rules of FB Groups

Upon joining each group, I answered questions and read the rules that they had adopted. Over time, however, I learned that the somewhat simple rules that I had seen were actually a lot more complicated.

--

--

Alan Lew
New Earth Consciousness

Anything and Everything is Possible in an Infinite Universe — http://www.AlanLew.com (paywall-free article links)