Tuning in to the Power of Mount Shasta

A virtual visit to one of our planet’s most majestic sacred sites

Jim Malloy
New Earth Consciousness
3 min readMar 16, 2024

--

Mount Shasta
Image by donwhite84 — Pixabay

Today we’re at beautiful Mount Shasta, in Northern California’s Cascade Mountain range. The word Shasta means “precious water.”

The local Shasta and Klamath Tribes consider the mountain to be extremely sacred. Shasta is a powerful mountain, but based on my experiences, it’s a gentle sort of power. I used to camp frequently on the mountain and it’s always felt very elevating.

There are several interesting legends about Shasta. Here are a few of them:

Telos and the Lemurians

A well-known Shasta legend holds that there is a hidden city named Telos deep within the mountain where the descendants of the lost continent of Lumuria are living. Once when I was camping on the mountain, I was enjoying an afternoon nap when I had a vivid dream in which several beings invited me to go inside the mountain with them. But I was feeling more sleepy than adventurous, so I declined. Did I miss an opportunity to discover something extraordinary? I’ll never know. And after all, it was just a dream… right?

A UFO hangout

Many believe that UFOs are using Shasta as a base and a place to recharge by using the high vibrational energy emanating from the mountain. Over the years, there have been numerous UFO sightings around the mountain. And some believe that the large UFO shaped clouds which sometimes cover the mountain peak are shrouding these ships. Although I’ve never seen a UFO in this area, I believe they are there.

A meeting with an ascended master

One of Shasta’s most notable legends is about a meeting with an ascended master. One day, a man was hiking on the mountain when he saw a large panther. Instead of running away in fear, the hiker stood there sending love to the panther. As he did this, the panther morphed into the ascended master, Saint Germain.

Following this encounter, the man became Saint Germain’s student and apprentice, receiving spiritual teachings from him known as “The Ancient Wisdom.” The teachings were subsequently published in a series of books titled “The I Am Discourses.” The beautiful meadow where this meeting took place was later named Panther Meadows.

A short, simple guided meditation to absorb Shasta’s energy

Now let’s take a little time to tune in to and absorb Mount Shasta’s powerful, uplifting energy.

As I guide you through this short meditation, just look at the picture of Mount Shasta at the top of the page, follow the simple steps, and accept whatever happens.

Here’s the text version of this meditation:

Sit quietly, looking at this beautiful mountain.

As you look at the mountain, gently breathe in its powerful energy.

With each in-breath, absorb the mountain’s powerful, elevating energy.

Breathe slowly… and as you inhale, let the powerful Shasta energy fill you.

With each in-breath, absorb the mountain’s elevating energy.

Allow the energy to flow into you… and through your body.

Allow the energy to flow into you… and through your entire being.

Just breathe, and enjoy Shasta’s great beauty and elevating energy. (pause)

I hope you enjoyed that. And I hope you found your experience of Mount Shasta uplifting.

--

--

Jim Malloy
New Earth Consciousness

I’m a meditation teacher living in Fairfield, Iowa. Trained in 1973 by Maharishi Mahesh Yogi, I’ve been teaching meditation for 50 years.